Call us for a free consultation: 1-855-S-PLANNING (1-855-775-2664)

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a minimum age requirement for Medicaid? No. The application process may vary depending on the age of the applicant, but there are no age restrictions.

Is there a citizenship requirement for Medicaid? Participants must be citizens or “qualified aliens”.

Will Medicaid be my ONLY insurance? No. If you have Medicare or any other major medical insurance, that will remain as your primary.

Will Medicaid pay for my premiums? Most Medicaid Adult Programs will pay for your Medicare Part A & B premiums. Medicaid allows you to pay for your secondary insurance premiums from your income.

Can I keep my house or do I have to sell it? The house can be transferred to an immediate family member ONLY if that family member has lived there and cared for you for two years prior. You must also provide a note from your doctor stating that the care has kept you out of a nursing home for those two years.

What is the resource limit I can keep and still qualify for Medicaid? In New Jersey, Medicaid allows a participant living in a nursing facility to keep $2,000. In New York, Medicaid allows a participant living in a nursing facility to keep $14,850. In Connecticut, Medicaid allows a participant living in a nursing facility to keep $1,600. In Pennsylvania, If you have income above $2,199.00 you can keep $2,400.00. If you have income below $2,199.00 you can keep $8,000.00.

What if I have a spouse living in the community, do I still need to spend down to the assets limit for an individual? No. As of 2015, if you have a spouse living in the community then the spouse is allowed to keep between $23,844.00- $119,220 in most states. The actual amount is based on the total resources on the “snap shot” date.

Is the spouse in the community allowed to keep the income? Medicaid will generally allow a spouse to keep some income from the spouse on Medicaid, the specific guidelines vary from state to state.

If assets were transferred, do they have to be returned? If assets were transferred, Medicaid will impose a penalty unless the transferred assets (or value of the assets) are returned.





Please leave this field empty.